Pictured left to right, Nancy Lindborg, Michael Singh, Farooq Kathwari, Madeleine Albright, Governor Thomas Kean, Stephen Hadley
Pictured left to right: Nancy Lindborg, Michael Singh, Farooq Kathwari, Madeleine Albright, Thomas Kean, Stephen Hadley


Governor Thomas Kean

Governor Thomas Kean

Thomas H. Kean co-chairs the Bipartisan Policy Center’s Task Force on Terrorism and Ideology. He served as governor of New Jersey from 1982 to 1990 and was the president of Drew University from 1990 to 2005. Kean also served as chairman of the 9/11 Commission from 2002 to 2004.

Prior to the governorship, Kean served for ten years in the New Jersey Assembly, rising to the positions of majority leader, minority leader, and speaker. As governor, he served on the President’s Education Policy Advisory Committee and as chair of the Education Commission of the States and the National Governor’s Association Task Force on Teaching. While president of Drew, Kean served on several national committees and commissions.

Kean headed the American delegation to the UN Conference on Youth in Thailand, served as vice chairman of the American delegation to the World Conference on Women in Beijing, and was a member of the President’s Initiative on Race. He also served on the National Endowment for Democracy. He currently sits on several corporate boards, including ARAMARK, Hess Corporation, Pepsi Bottling Group, and Franklin Templeton Investments.

He holds a B.A. from Princeton University and an M.A. from Columbia University Teachers College, as well as more than 25 honorary degrees and numerous awards from environmental and educational organizations. 

Representative Lee Hamilton

Representative Lee Hamilton

Lee H. Hamilton co-chairs the Bipartisan Policy Center’s Task Force on Terrorism and Ideology. For more than 40 years, Hamilton has been an important voice on international relations and American national security. From 1965 to 1999, he served Indiana in the House of Representatives, where his chairmanships included the Committee on Foreign Affairs, the Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence, and the Select Committee to Investigate Covert Arms Transactions with Iran. He also was chairman of the Joint Committee on the Organization of Congress and worked to promote integrity and efficiency in the institution.

Since retiring from Congress, Hamilton has been at the center of efforts to address some of our nation’s highest-profile homeland security and foreign policy challenges. He served as vice chairman of the 9/11 Commission, which issued its report in 2004. He was co-chairman, with former Secretary of State James A. Baker, of the Iraq Study Group, which in 2006 made recommendations on U.S. policy options in Iraq. He was co-chairman, with former Senator Spencer Abraham, of the Independent Task Force on Immigration and America’s Future, which issued a report in 2006 calling for reform of the nation’s immigration laws and system. Most recently, he was co-chairman, with former White House National Security Advisor Brent Scowcroft, of the Blue Ribbon Commission on America’s Nuclear Future.

From 1999 through 2010, Hamilton was president of the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, an institution in Washington, D.C., where scholars, policymakers, and business leaders engage in comprehensive and non-partisan dialogue on public policy issues. Hamilton founded the Center on Congress at Indiana University in 1999 and served as its Director until 2015; He is a recipient of the Presidential Medal of Freedom (2015). Hamilton currently serves as a Distinguished Scholar in the School of Global and International Studies and as a Professor of Practice in the School of Public and Environmental Affairs at Indiana University.

The Task Force on Extremism in Fragile States includes:

Senior Advisors

  • Ambassador Reuben E. Brigety II
    Adjunct Senior Fellow, Council on Foreign Relations
  • Mr. Eric Brown
    Senior Fellow, Hudson Institute
  • Dr. Susanna Campbell
    Assistant Professor, School of International Service, American University
  • Ms. Leanne Erdberg 
    Director of Countering Violent Extremism, U.S. Institute of Peace
  • Mr. Steven Feldstein
    Nonresident Fellow, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
  • Dr. Hillel Fradkin
    Senior Fellow, Hudson Institute
  • Ms. Alice Friend
    Senior Fellow, International Security Program, Center for Strategic and International Studies
  • Dr. Joseph Hewitt
    Vice President for Policy, Learning and Strategy, U.S. Institute of Peace
  • Dr. George Ingram
    Senior Fellow, Global Economy and Development, Brookings Institution
  • Dr. Seth G. Jones
    Director of the Transnational Threats Project and Senior Adviser to the International Security Program, Center for Strategic and International Studies
  • Dr. Mara Karlin
    Associate Professor of the Practice of Strategic Studies, Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies
  • Dr. Homi Kharas
    Interim Vice President and Director of the Global Economy and Development Program, Brookings Institute
  • Mr. Adnan Kifayat
    Senior Fellow, German Marshall Fund and Head of Global Security Ventures, Gen Next Foundation
  • Dr. Rachel Kleinfeld
    Senior Fellow, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
  • Mr. Christopher A. Kojm
    Visiting Professor of the Practice of International Affairs, George Washington University
  • Mr. Michael Lumpkin
    Vice President of Human Performance and Behavioral Health, Leidos Health
  • Mr. Robert Malley
    CEO, Crisis Group
  • Dr. Bridget Moix
    Senior US Representative and Head of Advocacy, Peace Direct
  • Mr. Jonathan Papoulidis
    Executive Advisor on Fragile States, World Vision
  • Ms. Susan Reichle
    President & CEO, International Youth Foundation
  • Dr. Lawrence Rubin
    Associate Professor, Sam Nunn School of International Affairs, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Mr. Andrew Snow
    Senior Fellow, U.S. Institute of Peace
  • Dr. Paul Stares
    Senior Fellow for Conflict Prevention and Director of the Center for Preventive Action, Council on Foreign Relations
  • Ms. Susan Stigant 
    Director of Africa Programs, U.S. Institute of Peace
  • Ms. Anne Witkowsky
    former Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Stability and Humanitarian Affairs, Office of the Under Secretary of Defense for Policy
  • Ms. Mona Yacoubian 
    Senior Advisor for Syria, Middle East and North Africa, U.S. Institute of Peace
  • Dr. Michael Yaffe
    Vice President of Middle East and Africa, U.S. Institute of Peace