The Global Fragility Act (GFA) is an ambitious law that makes preventing conflicts and promoting stability in countries prone to conflict a U.S. foreign policy priority. Following years of efforts that overemphasized military operations in response to extremist violence and insurgencies, the GFA requires a long-term investment to address the underlying drivers of conflict. The Biden administration has released a new strategy to implement the GFA with 10-year commitments of assistance to a group of fragile states. The GFA and the new strategy rely, in part, on recommendations made by the USIP-convened Task Force on Extremism in Fragile States.

Under this new strategy, the United States will partner with four countries (Haiti, Libya, Mozambique and Papua New Guinea) and a grouping of West African Coastal States (Benin, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Guinea and Togo) to advance peace and security in these nations.


A Bipartisan Congressional Dialogue with Rep. Sara Jacobs (D-CA) and Rep. Peter Meijer (R-MI)

Featured Event

From Stabilization to Prevention: Changing the U.S. Strategy on Violent Conflict

A Bipartisan Congressional Dialogue with Rep. Sara Jacobs (D-CA) and Rep. Peter Meijer (R-MI) on improving U.S. capacity to prevent and stabilize violent conflicts abroad through better alignment of U.S. government agencies’ efforts.

Featured Resources

U.S. Leadership and the Challenge of State Fragility

Fragility Study Group

September 12, 2016

The Fragility Study Group was an independent, non-partisan initiative, jointly convened by the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, the Center for a New American Security and the U.S. Institute of Peace, to improve the U.S. government’s approach to reducing global fragility.