The U.S. Institute of Peace is pleased to announce the 2019-2020 cohort for the Jennings Randolph Peace Scholar Dissertation Fellowship. This year, 20 Ph.D. candidates will receive this prestigious award, which is given to emerging scholars whose dissertations show the greatest potential to advance the peacebuilding field and the strongest likelihood to affect policy and practice.

Since 1988, USIP has awarded over 320 nonresidential fellowships to students enrolled in U.S. universities, many of whom have gone on to distinguished careers in research, teaching, and policymaking. Since 2016 USIP has collaborated with the Minerva Research Initiative to build upon the successes of the Peace Scholar program. The 2019-2020 Peace Scholar Dissertation Fellows are:

Minerva-Funded Peace Scholars:

  • Ayda Apa Pomeshikov (University of Washington), “The Prophet was a Refugee too: Islamic Humanitarianism and Syrian Refugees’ Search for Rights and Belonging in Turkey”
  • Vincent Bauer (Stanford University), “Does Doctrine Matter? The Role of Discretion during Counterinsurgencies”
  • Polina Beliakova (Fletcher School, Tufts University), “Controlling the Defenders: Implications of Intrastate Conflict for Civilian Control of the Military”
  • Jason Blessing (Syracuse University), “Securing Cyberspace: Interstate Militarization of the Fifth Domain”
  • Laura Collins (George Mason University), "Guns and Prayers: Religious Organizations and Wartime Violence in Central African Republic"”
  • Christina Cottiero (University of California, San Diego), “Staying Alive: The Strategic Use of Regional Integration Organizations by Vulnerable Political Leaders”
  • Ashley Fabrizio (Stanford University), “Contingent Radicalization: Government Repression's Differential Effect on Ethnonationalist Mobilization”
  • Lillian Frost (The George Washington University),Beyond Citizenship: Protracted Refugees and the State”
  • Rob Grace (Brown University), “Understanding Humanitarian Access Obstruction”
  • Ramzy Mardini (University of Chicago), “Rebel in Society: Social Networks and the Regeneration of the Islamic State”
  • Megan Ryan (University of Michigan-Ann Arbor), “Mobilized Religious Majorities: Fear-Based Rhetoric and Anti-Minority Violence during Political Liberalization”
  • Noah Rosen (American University), “Seizing a Window of Opportunity: Converting a Peace Process into Local Peace”
  • Andres Uribe (University of Chicago), “Grievance and Participation in Violent Democracies”

USIP-Funded Peace Scholars:

  • Maria Arango (Florida State University), “The Role of Education in the Reintegration of Ex-Combatants in Colombia”
  • Matthew Cebul (Yale University), “Repression and Rebellion in the Shadow of Foreign Intervention”
  • Travis Curtice (Emory University), “The Autocrat's Dilemma: The Politics of Policing in Multiethnic Societies”
  • Sophia Dawkins (Yale University), “Making Peace Safe for Civilians: Violence and Restraint During Elite Peace Negotiations”
  • Erum Haider (Georgetown University), “Disempowered: Citizenship, Trust and Service Delivery in Urban Pakistan”
  • Christopher Price (Yale University), “Legacies of Conflict: Targeting of Violence during Civil War and Ethnic Polarization”
  • Maro Youssef (The University of Texas – Austin), “An Unlikely Coalition: Islamist and Secular Women’s Associations in Tunisia”

USIP congratulates these distinguished scholars for their accomplishments and looks forward to supporting future generations of peacebuilders through our dissertation fellowship program.

Applications for the 2020-2021 cohort will open on September 4, 2019, and the awardees will be announced the following spring. If you or someone you know is interested in applying to the program, visit Jennings Randolph Peace Scholar Dissertation Fellowship Program on USIP’s website for more information.

Applications from members of groups traditionally underrepresented in the field of international relations, peace and conflict studies, and other related academic disciplines, as well as diplomacy and international policymaking, are strongly encouraged.

Related News

USIP President Nancy Lindborg to Step Down at End of Summer

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

News Type: Announcement

Nancy Lindborg, president and CEO of the U.S. Institute of Peace, announced today that she will be stepping down later this year. On September 1, she will assume the role of president and CEO of the David and Lucile Packard Foundation, located in the San Francisco Bay Area. Lindborg has served as president since February 2015 and will remain in her role through August 2020 to allow time for the Board to identify a successor and ensure a seamless transition.

USIP Announces New Grants for Youth Peacebuilders

Tuesday, October 22, 2019

News Type: Announcement

The U.S. Institute of Peace is pleased to announce the winners of its first-ever Youth and Peacebuilding Grants Competition. The competition was held among the members, worldwide, of USIP’s Generation Change Fellows Program. The Institute is using this competition to increase the numbers and the scale of critical peacebuilding initiatives that are led by, and focused on, youth. Youth-led peacebuilding work is critical among the 1.8 billion people worldwide living in countries that face violent conflicts or crises that threaten violence. The populations of such countries have some of the world’s highest proportions of youth.


Nobel Peace Prize Awarded to Ethiopia’s Abiy Ahmed for Diplomatic Engagement with Eritrea

Nobel Peace Prize Awarded to Ethiopia’s Abiy Ahmed for Diplomatic Engagement with Eritrea

Friday, October 11, 2019

News Type: Announcement

The Nobel Peace Prize awarded today honors Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed for his leadership in reaching the historic 2018 peace deal with neighboring Eritrea that brought the two nations’ “frozen war” to an end. Long considered an intractable conflict, Abiy brought new life to a peace process that had been stalled for the better part of two decades.

Peace Processes; Reconciliation

USIP’s Aly Verjee Awarded the 2019 Oslo Forum Peacewriter Prize

Thursday, August 8, 2019

News Type: Announcement

The U.S. Institute of Peace congratulates our Aly Verjee on being awarded the 2019 Oslo Forum Peacewriter Prize, which recognizes “bold and innovative responses to today’s peacemaking challenges,” for his essay on addressing the increasing challenges of cease-fire monitoring.

View All News