The U.S. Institute of Peace (USIP) International Advisory Council (IAC) brings together thought leaders and senior policy experts committed to the Institute’s mission and activities. Members are former diplomats, corporate executives, and leaders in the field of conflict resolution. They meet twice yearly to discuss ways the IAC can support the Institute’s mission to prevent, mitigate, and resolve violent conflicts around the world.


Nancy Zirkin, co-chair
Strategic Consultant

Vacant, co-chair


Robert Abernethy
American Standard Development Company

S. Daniel Abraham
S. Daniel Abraham Center for Middle East Peace

Joanne Leedom Ackerman

Jacqueline Adams
J Adams: Strategic Communications, LLC

Rye Barcott
Co-Founder & CEO
With Honor

James Benson
Benson Botsford, LLC

Megan Beyer
Director, Art in Embassies
U.S. Department of State

Hans Binnendijk
Distinguished Fellow
Atlantic Council

Rafic A. Bizri
President, CEO, and Chairman of the Board
Hariri Foundation-USA

Mary Boies
Boies Schiller Flexner LLP

John Burbank
Founder and Chief Investment Officer
Passport Capital, LLC

Marcia M. Carlucci
Board of Trustees
National Museum of Women in the Arts

Christopher P. Carney
Senior Policy Advisor
Nossaman LLP

Dr. Ahmed Charai
Chairman and CEO
Global Media Holding

Michael Chertoff
Co-Founder and Executive Chairman
The Chertoff Group

Curtis Chin
Former U.S. Ambassador to the Asian Development Bank
Asia Fellow
Milken Institute

Priscilla Clapp
Member, International Advisory Council

Chester Crocker
James R. Schlesinger Distinguished Fellow in Strategic Studies
Georgetown University

Richard Danzig
Former Secretary of Navy

Debbie Driesman

Raymond F. DuBois
Senior Adviser

James W. Dyer
Senior Advisor
Baker Donelson

Nancy Folger
Board of Directors
Live It Learn It

Nelson Ford
Former President and CEO

Laurie Fulton
Former U.S. Ambassador to Denmark

John Gage
Former Vice President
Sun Microsystems

Daniel R. Glickman
Senior Fellow
Bipartisan Policy Center

Melanie Greenberg
Managing Director for Peacebuilding
Humanity United

Kathryn A. Hall
Founder and Co-Chair
Hall Capital Partners LLC

William B. Inglee
Senior Partner
Inglee Sauer Moseley Strategies, LLC

Frank Islam
Chairman and CEO
FI Investment Group, LLC

Alphonso Jackson
Former Secretary
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

M. Farooq Kathwari
Chairman and CEO
Ethan Allen Interiors

Thomas H. Kean
Former Governor of New Jersey

Tom C. Korologos
Former U.S. Ambassador to Belgium

David Lane
The Annenberg Foundation Trust at Sunnylands

Marc Leland
Marc E. Leland & Associates

Aaron Lobel
Founder and President
America Abroad Media

Rafat Mahmood
President and CEO
Mahmood Investment Corporation

Shaista Mahmood

Pat Mitchell
Founder and CEO
Pat Mitchell Media

John Norton Moore
Former Director, National Security Law
University of Virginia School of Law

Thomas R. Pickering
Vice Chairman
Hills & Company

Andre Pienaar
Founder, CEO, and Head of Investor Relations
C5 Capital

Stephen Rademaker
Senior Counsel
Covington & Burling LLP

Charles S. Robb
Former Governor of Virginia and U.S. Senator

Michael Roberts
President, CEO and Executive Director
HSBC North America Holdings Inc.

Ervin J. Rokke
Former President
Moravian College

Peter R. Rosenblatt
Law Office of Peter R. Rosenblatt

Nancy Ziuzin Schlegel
Vice President, International Government Affairs
Lockheed Martin

Scott Siff
Managing Partner
Quadrant Strategies

Charles D. Smith
Inspector General (Ret.)
Peace Corps

Antonio J. Soave
Chairman and CEO
Capistrano Global Advisory Services

Maya Soetoro-Ng
Associate Specialist
Matsunaga Institute for Peace and Conflict Resolution

Anne G. K. Solomon
Member, International Advisory Council

Gillian Sorensen
Former Assistant Secretary General at the United Nations

Barbaralee Diamonstein Spielvogel
Member, Board of Directors
Trust for the National Mall

Lianne Stein
Former Vice President
Boeing International and Former President of Boeing Germany

Catherine Anne Stevens
Mayer Brown

General Gordon R. Sullivan
Former President and Chief Executive Officer
Association of the United States Army

Richard C. Sullivan, Jr.
Virginia House of Delegates

John E. Sununu
Non-Executive Director
Boston Scientific

Mary Swig
President and CEO
Mary Green/Mansilk

Steven Swig
Co-Founder and Trustee Emeritus
Presidio World College

David A. Thomas
Morehouse College

Amy Titus
Managing Director
Deloitte Consulting LLP

Stephen J. Trachtenberg
President Emeritus and University Professor of Public Service
The George Washington University

Wayne Valis
President & Founder
Valis & Associates, LLC

Toni Verstandig
Verstandig Family Foundation

Christine Vick
Managing Director
North Oak, LLC

Mark V. Vlasic
Senior Fellow & Adjunct Professor of Law
Georgetown University
Executive Producer, Blood & Treasure

Kurt Volker
Distinguished Fellow
Center for European Policy Analysis

J. Robinson West
Managing Director, Center for Energy Impact
Boston Consulting Group

Pete Wilson
Of Counsel
Browne George Ross O’Brien Annaguey & Ellis LLP

David L. Winstead
Of Counsel
Ballard Spahr LLP

Frank G. Wisner
Foreign Affairs Advisor
Squire Patton Boggs, LLP