



USIP-NA Roundtable on Technology, Science & Peacebuilding

Inaugural Meeting May 17, 2011 USIP Headquarters, Washington, D.C.

Roundtable Co-Chairs

Richard Solomon President United State Institute of Peace **Charles M. Vest** President National Academy of Engineering

Roundtable Attendees

Pamela Aall Academy for International Conflict Management and Peacebuilding

Peter Ackerman International Center on Nonviolent Conflict

Bernard Amadei Engineers Without Borders

Gregor Bailar Capital One Financial Corporation

The Honorable Ann Bartuska U.S. Department of Agriculture

Cathleen Campbell CRDF Global

Peter Cherry SAIC, Inc. (ret.)

Phil Coyle White House Office of Science and Technology Policy

Alex Dehgan U.S. Agency for International Development

Mark Epstein (for Irwin Jacobs) Qualcomm, Inc.

Deborah Estrin Center for Embedded Networked Sensing (CENS) University of California, Los Angeles **The Honorable Earl Wyatt** U.S. Department of Defense

Nancy Lindborg U.S. Agency for International Development

Gene Lupia Environmental Services Business Group CH2M HILL

Cora Marrett (for Subra Suresh, Director) National Science Foundation

Pablo Mayrgundter (for Megan Smith, General Manager) Google.org Crisis Response

Sharon Morris Mercy Corps

Dawn McCall U.S. Department of State

The Honorable Judith McHale U.S. Department of State

Nick Oatley (for John Marks, President) Search for Common Ground

Andrew Reynolds Office of the Science & Technology Adviser to the Secretary of State U.S. Department of State **Robert Ricigliano** Alliance for Peacebuilding

Jeffrey Sachs The Earth Institute Columbia University

Mark Schneider International Crisis Group **Fred Tipson** United Nations Development Programme

Linton Wells Center for Technology and National Security Policy National Defense University

Samuel Worthington InterAction

Member Staff Attending

Julia Carter Google.org

Thom Feroah

Cynthia Quezada

Sehreen Noor Ali

Joanne Culbertson

National Science Foundation

Alliance for Peacebuilding

U.S. Department of State

U.S. Department of State

Elmer Roman U.S. Department of Defense

Andrew Sweet U.S. Agency for International Development

Annica Wayman U.S. Agency for International Development

Jim Willis SPEC Innovations

- 2 -

Roundtable Members Not Attending

Irwin Jacobs Qualcomm, Inc.

Calestous Juma Harvard University

John Paul Lederach University of Notre Dame **John Marks** Search for Common Ground

Megan Smith Google.org

Subra Suresh National Science Foudnation