



USIP-NA Roundtable on Technology, Science & Peacebuilding

Inaugural Meeting May 17, 2011 USIP Headquarters, Washington, D.C.

Roundtable Co-Chairs

Richard Solomon

President U.S. Institute of Peace

Charles M. Vest

President

National Academy of Engineering

Roundtable Attendees

Pamela Aall

Provost Academy for International Conflict Management and Peacebuilding U.S. Institute of Peace

Peter Ackerman

Founding Chair International Center on Nonviolent Conflict

Bernard Amadei

Founder Engineers Without Borders

Gregor Bailar

CIO (ret.) Capital One Financial Corporation

The Honorable Ann Bartuska

Deputy Under Secretary for Research, Education, and Economics U.S. Department of Agriculture

Cathleen Campbell

President and CEO CRDF Global

Peter Cherry

Chief Analyst (ret.) SAIC, Inc.

Phil Coyle

Associate Director for National Security and International Affairs White House Office of Science and Technology Policy

Alex Dehgan

Science and Technology Adviser U.S. Agency for International Development

Mark Epstein (for Irwin Jacobs) Senior Vice President

Qualcomm, Inc.

Deborah Estrin

Director, Center for Embedded Networked Sensing (CENS) University of California, Los Angeles

Nancy Lindborg

Assistant Administrator U.S. Agency for International Development

Gene Lupia

President Environmental Services Business Group CH2M HILL

Cora Marrett (for Subra Suresh, Director)

Deputy Director

National Science Foundation

Pablo Mayrgundter (for Megan Smith,

General Manager) Software Engineer Google.org Crisis Response

Sharon Morris

Director, Conflict Management Group Mercy Corps

Dawn McCall

Coordinator for the Bureau of International Information Programs U.S. Department of State

The Honorable Judith McHale

Under Secretary of State for Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs U.S. Department of State

Nick Oatley (for John Marks, President) Director, Institutional Learning Search for Common Ground

Andrew Reynolds

Deputy Adviser
Office of the Science & Technology Adviser
to the Secretary of State
U.S. Department of State

Robert Ricigliano

Chairman of the Board Alliance for Peacebuilding

Jeffrey Sachs

Director The Earth Institute Columbia University

Mark Schneider

Senior Vice President International Crisis Group

Fred Tipson

Director

United Nations Development Programme

Linton Wells

Director Center for Technology and National Security Policy National Defense University

Samuel Worthington

President and CEO InterAction

The Honorable Earl Wyatt

Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Rapid Fielding U.S. Department of Defense

Member Staff Attending

Julia Carter

Software Engineer Google.org

Joanne Culbertson

Staff Associate for Planning and Evaluation Directorate for Engineering National Science Foundation

Thom Feroah

Observer Alliance for Peacebuilding

Cynthia Quezada

Life Sciences Specialist U.S. Department of State

Sehreen Noor Ali

Strategic Planning Officer U.S. Department of State

Elmer Roman

Oversight Executive U.S. Department of Defense

Andrew Sweet

Conflict Advisor
Office of Conflict Management and
Mitigation
U.S. Agency for International Development

Annica Wayman

Science and Technology Fellow Science and Technology Office U.S. Agency for International Development

Jim Willis

Vice President SPEC Innovations

Roundtable Members Not Attending

Irwin Jacobs

Co-founder Qualcomm, Inc.

Calestous Juma

Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs Harvard University

John Paul Lederach

Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies University of Notre Dame

John Marks

President and Founder Search for Common Ground

Megan Smith

General Manager Google.org

Subra Suresh

Director National Science Foundation