Peace Agreements: Democratic Republic of the Congo

Peace Agreements Digital Collection

Ceasefire Agreement
The Ceasefire Agreement was signed on July 10, 1999 by representatives of Angola, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Namibia, Rwanda, Uganda, Zimbabwe and witnessed by representatives from Zambia, the Organization for African Unity (OAU), the United Nations and the Southern African Development Community (SADC). On August 1, a representative of the Movement for the Liberation of the Congo signed the agreement. On August 31, 1999, representatives from the Congolese Rally for Democracy (RCD) signed the agreement.
(07-10-1999 — 08-31-1999)

Posted by USIP Library on: August 23, 1999
Source Name: U.S. Department of State. Faxed to D.C. from the U.S. Embassy in Lusaka, Zambia.
Date faxed/received: Faxed on July 15, 1999; print copy received by USIP Library on August 11, 1999

March 8, 2005