March 14, 2011

Senator Patrick Leahy
SD-127 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510

Senator Lindsey Graham
SH-125 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510

Congresswoman Kay Granger HB-26, The Capitol Building Washington, DC 20515-6021

Congresswoman Nita Lowey 1016 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515-6157

## Dear Senators Leahy and Graham and Congresswomen Granger and Lowey,

We write to express our strong support for the U.S. Institute of Peace (USIP). Since it was created by President Reagan in 1984, this non-partisan federal institute has played a central role in efforts to prevent, manage and resolve international conflicts around the world. We, the undersigned institutions, oppose efforts to eliminate USIP's funding in the FY 2011 continuing resolution (HR 1).

USIP has played an important role that the State Department is not always able to take on – acting as an independent voice for peace and conflict resolution. The Institute has fostered some of the most important ideas in conflict resolution and negotiation in the last few decades. They have brought those ideas directly to action in the Middle East, the Balkans, North Africa and in countless other regions around the world. They have focused their resources on ground-level efforts, like their tribal reconciliation programs, which seek to end local conflicts that directly endanger U.S. troops in Iraq and Afghanistan. There can be no greater contribution to our national security than creating peace in turbulent lands.

In difficult economic times, when philanthropic contributions would be the most challenging to find, it seems clear that cutting off government funding for this important agency could only serve to weaken the USIP's important national security role. As institutions that have worked closely with USIP in support of its mission around the globe, we can attest to the great value and necessity of its work. We applaud all of you for your efforts in supporting this agency in the past, and we hope you will continue to work to protect their FY 2011 funding.

Sincerely,

Ateve Knapp

Steven Knapp President

The George Washington University

and Cantol

Nancy Cantor Chancellor and President Syracuse University

Clanet Morgan Roges

Janet Morgan Riggs President Gettysburg College

Diell

David Maxwell President Drake University

Wallace Jos

Wallace D. Loh
President
University of Maryland

H. Holden Thop

Holden Thorp
Chancellor
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Laureng S. Bacons

March B. Leed

Lawrence Bacow President Tufts University

Charles B. Reed

The California State University

Alaly & Smith

Michael Crew

Molly E. Smith
President
Manhattanville College

Michael M. Crow

President

Arizona State University

Stephen L. Weber

President

San Diego State University

tephen S. Whole

Leslie & Wong

omelin M. Kewin

Les Wong President

Northern Michigan University

Neil Kerwin

President

**American University**