



Roundtable on Technology, Science, and Peacebuilding

of the National Academy of Engineering and the U.S. Institute of Peace

Third Meeting June 25, 2012

USIP Headquarters Building Washington, DC

PARTICIPANTS

Roundtable Co-Chairs

Richard Solomon

President U.S. Institute of Peace

Charles M. Vest

President National Academy of Engineering

Roundtable Participants

Pamela Aall

Provost, Academy for International Conflict Management and Peacebuilding U.S. Institute of Peace

Salah Abdelhamid

Vice President, Enterprise Technology CH2M HILL

Peter Ackerman

Founding Chair International Center on Nonviolent Conflict

Bernard Amadei

Founder Engineers Without Borders

Graham Archer

Principal Consultant, OSD/AT&L Department of Defense

The Honorable Ann Bartuska

Deputy Under Secretary for Research, Education, and Economics U.S. Department of Agriculture

Eric Bone

Senior Scientist and Policy Adviser U.S. Department of State

Cathleen Campbell

President and CEO CRDF Global

Alex Dehgan

Science and Technology Adviser to the Administrator U.S. Agency for International Development

Mark Epstein

Senior Vice President Qualcomm, Inc.

Deborah Estrin

Director, Center for Embedded Network Sensing University of California, Los Angeles

Loren Flossman

Director, Border Patrol Facilities & Tactical Infrastructure Department of Homeland Security

Melanie Greenberg

President and CEO Alliance for Peacebuilding

David Hamburg

Visiting Scholar American Association for the Advancement of Science

Daniel "Kaz" Kasmierski

Science and Technology Advisor AFRICOM

Jennifer Leonard

Washington Advocacy Director International Crisis Group

Cora Marrett

Deputy Director National Science Foundation

Dawn McCall

Coordinator, Bureau of International Information Programs U.S. Department of State

Sandra Melone

Executive Vice President Search for Common Ground

Prabhakar Raghavan (by phone)

Vice President of Engineering Google

Andy Reynolds

Senior Advisor, Office of Space and Advanced Technologies U.S. Department of State

Rob Ricigliano

Chairman of the Board Alliance for Peacebuilding

Dylan Schmorrow

Acting Director, Human Performance, Training and BioSystems Research Directorate Department of Defense

Kathryn Sullivan

Senior Advisor, Office of Integrative Activities National Science Foundation

The Honorable Karin von Hippel

Deputy Assistant Secretary for Operations, Bureau for Conflict & Stabilization Operations U.S. Department of State

Linton Wells II

Director, Center for Technology and National Security Policy National Defense University

Lawrence Woocher

Research Director SAIC, Inc.

Expert Attendees

Thom Feroah

Observer Alliance for Peacebuilding

John Seel

Director of Emerging Capabilities Division, ODASD/RF Department of Defense

Roundtable Secretariat and Staff Attendees

Geneve Bergeron

Program Assistant U.S. Institute of Peace

Sheldon Himelfarb

Director, Center of Innovation for Science, Technology and Peacebuilding U.S. Institute of Peace

Subhash Kuvelker

Study Director and Senior Program Officer National Academy of Sciences

Greg Pearson

Senior Program Officer National Academy of Engineering

Proctor Reid

Director of Programs National Academy of Engineering

Andrew Robertson

Senior Program Officer U.S. Institute of Peace

Frederick S. Tipson

Special Advisor, Center of Innovation for Science, Technology and Peacebuilding U.S. Institute of Peace

Anand Varghese

Program Specialist U.S. Institute of Peace